A delicious, seasonal and carb-free brunch

yum

I used to think a boiled egg was worthless without toasted, buttered soldiers but, luckily, I was wrong. I tried this recipe from Jamie at Home at the weekend and it was incredible. Jamie uses pancetta but I went for smoked streaky bacon instead.  Wrap one rasher around each asparagus stalk (3/4 per person) – I made sure my asparagus was grown in England as ’tis the season for it – then put them in a baking tray in a pre-heated hot oven for about 15 minutes until the bacon is crisp and brown (I whacked the grill on for the last few minutes to help things along). Meanwhile, boil your eggs for 5 minutes in lightly salted water, drain and cut off the tops. Serve everything up with some salt and pepper on the side and start dipping. At ease soldier.

Rosie

This entry was posted in Breakfast, GI, Hearty fare, Rare ideas, Salads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A delicious, seasonal and carb-free brunch

  1. Pingback: In praise of asparagus and Twitter - Front Page News - NewsSpotz

  2. Pingback: klauninger.net » Blog Archive » In praise of asparagus and twitter

  3. Jess says:

    Also a slimmers world special – muy rico : )

    I always do my eggs in 4 mins – is 5 really better?

  4. saladclub says:

    I find that if they’ve been in the fridge they need 5 but if they’ve come directly from under the chicken then 4 is plenty!

  5. Ant says:

    this was really nice with poaced egg aswell

Leave a Reply

