Amazing fishcakes sans breadcrumbs or potatoes

Time to explain, briefly, the recent glut of carb-free recipes here at Salad Club: I try to follow the GI diet wherever possible which means no refined starchy carbohydrates like bread, pasta, potatoes, sugar and, very sadly, beer. As you may have guessed, however, I very rarely deprive myself of the things I love and there is no need to see a low-carb diet as a sacrifice. At the end of a meal I feel full rather than bloated and my taste buds are stimulated not numbed by blandness. However, hangovers are often my downfall (I live far too close to Franco Manca) and I sometimes wobble home and devour a bowl of pasta at 3am but who doesn’t? I hate all the preachy, low-carb cookbooks with their suicidally dull weekly menus and patronizing portion ‘pyramids’ – the joyous and creative process of making a meal should never be dictated, only gently guided where necessary. I hope some of the low carb recipes I post here inspire people to see a meal without potatoes or bread as a feast not a morsel. If not, please feel free to throw in something beige.

fishcakes

Fantastic fishcakes with tartar sauce

Tonight I made simple and delicious fishcakes without the aid of breadcrumbs or potatoes: chop 500g of Pollack (a sustainable and economical alternative to cod), half an onion and a shallot and put it all in a mixing bowl with an egg. Whizz everything into a rough paste with a hand blender and then stir in 2 egg whites, a big pinch of salt and pepper, a finely sliced red chilli and a squeeze of lime juice. Heat some groundnut oil in a frying pan and, when the oil is quite hot, take a heaped tablespoon of the fish mixture and chuck it in the pan – it should sizzle. Flatten the cake into a patty with the back of the spoon or a spatula. After about 5 minutes (the base of the cake should be golden brown) flip it over and cook for a further 5 minutes. Serve on a bed of lightly dressed leaves with this very quick tartar sauce: 2/3 finely chopped cornichons, 2 tablespoons of mayo, 1 tablespoon of dijon mustard, a pinch of paprika and the juice of half a lemon all mixed together. Lovely.

Rosie

This entry was posted in Fish, GI, Rare ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Amazing fishcakes sans breadcrumbs or potatoes

  1. goodshoeday says:

    This looks good and I like the idea of no bread crumbs or potato just fish. My fishcakes always fall apart maybe I’m not using enough egg.

  2. Lizzie says:

    Sounds lovely. I love thai fish cakes, but also the potatoey ones too.

  3. Rebecca Lever says:

    These fishcakes were so good! They didn’t appear or taste low-carb – but had a substantial texture and the combination of the fish with the tangy tartare sauce was delicious!
    A real winner that left me totally content and satisfied, after having 2 fishcakes with the bed of salad leaves.
    Yummy!

  4. Pingback: a lovely secret supper at salad club « Family Styles

  5. Emily says:

    Lovely lovely!
    I’ve got another fishy salad that sounds bizarre but tastes incredible
    Mango and mackerel salad

    -Smoked mackerel
    -Ripped up mango
    -Thinly sliced red onion or shallots
    -Baby plum or cherry tomatoes
    -Spinach, rocket or whatever other salad
    -Salt and pepper and lemon oil
    -Eat chilled

    YUM!!

  6. saladclub says:

    Thanks Emily – that sounds amazing!

    Will be sure to try it next time I buy smoked mackerel, which will be soon as I’ve just run out and the fridge seems bear without it.

    Watch out for our bulgar, mango, chilli and lime salad recipe soon – it’s a winner.

    Rosie x

  7. Mairead says:

    I cannot believe how easy it is to make these fish cakes! Thanks so much for a really great recipe without bread and spuds! These have become such a favourite in our household and I am making them again tonight!

  8. Miriam says:

    Do I use cooked or raw fish before mixing with the other ingredients?

  9. Emily Flynn says:

    Looks gorgeous, how many people would this serve?

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

